DAISY Award Criteria

To receive the DAISY Award, nurses must consistently meet all of the following criteria:

  • Make a special connection with the patient and family
  • Include patients and families in the planning of their care
  • Do an excellent job educating patients and families
  • Work well with the healthcare team to meet patient and family needs
  • Make patients and their families feel comfortable
  • Go above and beyond

Nominations will be reviewed and awarded on a quarterly basis within each nurse’s unit.

About the DAISY Foundation

The DAISY Foundation was established in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes, who died of complications of the auto-immune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. DAISY is an acronym for diseases attacking the immune system. During Pat’s eight-week hospitalization, his family was awestruck by the care and compassion his nurses provided not only to Pat but to everyone in his family. So one of the goals they set in creating the Foundation in Pat’s memory was to recognize extraordinary nurses everywhere who make an enormous difference in the lives of so many people by the super-human work they do every day. Learn more about the Foundation »